University of Karachi
Career Opportunities

Important Links 
University of Karachi
About Karachi
Library of Congress
American Library Association

The Department of Library and Information Science, University of Karachi has played a leading role in establishing library education in Pakistan. The department was established on 10th August 1956 at the old campus building at the Princess Street and moved along with other departments to the its new campus in 1963-64. The department was started at the 5th floor of the main library (later named as Dr. Mehmud Hussain Library). In 1982, the department shifted to its current location at the 3rd block of the Faculty of Arts building.

Prof. Dr. Abdul Moid was the founder Chairman of the Department. Dr. Abdul Moid was the first Ph.D. holder in Library Science from USA (as early as 1964). The founding members of the department include Mr. Habibuddin Ahmad Qazi, Mr. Mohammad Shafi, Mr. Noor Mohammad Khan, Mr. Mohammad Nuras Safa and Miss. Dora Dean.

1956- Postgraduate Diploma in Library Science was offered.
  1962- Masters Degree in Library Science was introduced.
  1967- Ph.D. program was launched.
  1973- Semester system was introduced by the University.
  1978- Dr. Abdul Haleem Chishti awarded the first Ph.D. in LIS.
(Supervised by Dr. Abdul Moid)
  1981- Silver Jubilee Celebrations of the department.
  1985- M.Phil. program was launched.
  1992- Prof. Dr. Nasim Fatima was awarded Ph.D. in LIS.
(Supervised by Dr. Jamil Jalbi)

On its Silver Jubilee the department changed its nomenclature as Department of Library and Information Science. New courses of Library Automation and Information Science were added.


Pioneer Faculty of Library and Information Science


Picture Gallery








Department of Library and Information Science-2006. All Rights Reserved.